The crab grass in the lawn of life..

Having a sister is like having a best friend you can’t get rid of. You know whatever you do, they’ll still be there. ~Amy Li

I’ve been pretty addicted to my new dvd-rental machine near my place and I’ve been trying to catch as many flicks in the wee hours of the night. Yesterday, I caught In Her Shoes. In terms of fantastic direction or great scripts or even a wonderful plot, this story may not be ace. But it reminded me of something I am very grateful I have.

Many a time, I have shared important shards of my life with my readers and whenever I speak of my family I’ve always only spoke of my father. That isn’t because the rest aren’t worthy of my attention but because his loss still resonates deeply within my heart. After catching the movie, I realised, it is time to share another vital part of my life; my sisters.

Big sisters are the crab grass in the lawn of life. ~Charles M. Schulz

I’ve been very lucky to have been born the youngest of three girls. We were our parents’ little princesses. However, being the youngest amidst two very amazing big sisters, I was also very lucky to have always been protected from the harsh realities of life as well as pampered to the bone. Since memories of all the littlest moments I’ve shared with both my sisters are rushing to my mind after having watched the movie, I thought I’d share them with you guys.


A sister is a little bit of childhood that can never be lost. ~Marion C. Garretty

Indeed, the reason why I had so much fun as a child was because I always had two elder sisters who never grew bored of my antics or entertaining me. My second sister was often the disciplinarian – having to chide me into doing the right things like walking properly or sitting properly and even certain basic etiquette. While at that time, I would have been pretty irked since she’d be spoiling the fun I had, I have to thank her for making me be more aware of what I do. There were times though when she’d fool me into believing that the little specks in the egg yolk were real chicks that could be frozen to life and the likes of other lies that I truly did believe.

My first sister on the other hand, was always there for me as a playmate. This is amazing cos she’s a grand 9 years older (though she refuses to admit it) than me. From dressing me up in different hairstyles daily for kindergarten, to begging me to take a shower, to keeping me company at family functions where all my cousins were much older, to even dressing my Barbie dolls with me, she was there. There was never a phase in my life where she was absent and even when my mother was away or busy with school, my sister would be there by my side.

Sisters function as safety nets in a chaotic world simply by being there for each other. ~Carol SalineAnd my sisters were the ones who gave me sanity even at the craziest point in life. A crisis was never unsolvable because I learnt from both my sisters never to give up. Like the time the two of them fixed the toilet with a S-hook. God knows how on earth they did it, but it’s really like them to never give up and always be as resourceful as they can be.

Perhaps a less candid anecdote would be about the way my sisters were at my Dad’s funeral. Somehow, knowing I had two sisters with me made me a little stronger. I knew I had to endure this and we all knew we had to protect our mother and that in itself kept us alive. I remember my sisters and how we comforted each other through the worst tragedy of our lives. My second sister is the most dutiful person I know and even in her most tumultuous of moments she knew she had to keep us all together and conducted my Dad’s last rites the way he’d have wanted it to be, by his princesses.

I’ve learnt some really important things from my sisters and one of them would be to always stand tall and never to back down in the face of disaster.


Sisters annoy, interfere, criticize. Indulge in monumental sulks, in huffs, in snide remarks. Borrow. Break. Monopolize the bathroom. Are always underfoot. But if catastrophe should strike, sisters are there. Defending you against all comers. ~Pam Brown

We’ve had some mean ass fights. I remember shouting to my sisters telling them I wish I never was born with them or having them kick me out of their room cos of something stupid I might have said. But no matter what, I know that if I needed someone badly, no one would be there quicker than my sisters.

I still remember how they’ve never missed any of my performances, been there to wish me luck through exams (even in their sleepy stupors as I am leaving the house in the morning), helped to open the door when I stupidly go out late and forget my keys, hid surprises from me, made me crazy banners when I was in Dhool, supported me through every of my endeavours, felt real happiness when I aced exams and chided me with genuine concern when I seemed to have treaded the path of waywardness, reminded me time and time of my duties as a daughter, a grand daughter and made sure I was always doing the right thing and not pissing anyone off.

I have a lot to thank them for but at this moment I know, thank yous are not necessary because sisters will love you no matter what. They care not for civility or courtesy or political correctness, they care because they care.

I think no quote says it better than this. For all our midnight 7-11 and swing rendezvous, gossiping in the dark sessions, driving Ma mad with our antics, finishing that last cookie B buys, poking fun at G’s hole-y shorts, watching silly DVDs and falling asleep amidst them, doing “bridal” snow decoration, fights for the toilet, shoe stealing encounters, many little treats you guys buy me from your holidays or shopping sprees, I want to say, I love you both with all my heart.

I know both of you read this(one openly, the other secretively) but I want you to know you both mean everything and I’d give up all there is on earth to make you both happy. While I am the pampered brat of the 3 and I am always the one you guys are fussing over, I really really wish God always gives me this same 2 sisters through any life.

collage1.jpg

4 Comments

  1. Stop making me cry! doink!

  2. oooohhh…i love ur blog la…
    its so honest and straightforward.hahahah..
    cheers.

  3. ohh..so touching. i do agree. i haf an elder sister. sisters are epitomes when they say angels do exist =) interesting blog

  4. good one..we r also 3 angles of parents…


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

